Why Bangladesh Has Six Seasons Instead Of Four

Most people experience four seasons: winter, spring, summer, and fall/autumn. However, those four don't extend to every place on earth. Because of the equatorial location of the tropics, that zone only experiences two seasons: wet and dry. Areas near the Indian Ocean, meanwhile, generally experience three seasons: winter, summer, and monsoon. For various reasons including agriculture, commerce, and cultural tradition, Bangladesh divides these three seasons into six: summer (grisma, in Bengali), monsoon (barsa), autumn (sharat), late autumn (hemanta), winter (shit), and spring (basanta).

The Bengali year begins with summer. This occurs from the equivalent of mid-April to mid-June, when the weather is hot and dry with the occasional violent storm. Monsoon season traditionally spreads from mid-June to mid-August, and brings with it up to 85% of the year's total rainfall. A gradual decrease in temperature and humidity characterizes autumn, from mid-August to mid-October, then things get even cooler from mid-October to mid-December during late autumn. Mid-December to mid-February brings winter, the coolest and perhaps most pleasant season in Bangladesh, with average temperatures of 11–20ºC (52–68ºF). Finally, spring takes place from mid-February to mid-April, when warm breezes pick up and periodic thunderstorms punctuate the afternoons. Learn more about the seasons in the videos below.

What Does Global Warming Do To Monsoon Season?

Find out what a monsoon is and how it's affected by our warming planet.

Written by Ashley Hamer October 14, 2016

Curiosity uses cookies to improve site performance, for analytics and for advertising. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.