Who Was The Face Of The $20 Before Andrew Jackson?

Excited for the August 21 eclipse? Visit our Eclipse 2017 page to explore the science, history, and myths of the event. The Curiosity team will be viewing the eclipse alongside NASA in Carbondale, Illinois. Follow us on Facebook for live videos, trivia, and interviews on the big day.

On April 20, 2016, Treasury Secretary Jacob J. Lew announced that Harriet Tubman will be the new face of the $20 bill, replacing Andrew Jackson. However, the seventh president wasn't the first face of the $20. The 1864 $20 banknote showed Lady Liberty, and before Jackson made his way onto the bill in 1928, it featured presidents George Washington and Grover Cleveland. The Tubman design of the $20 bill is set to be unveiled in 2020, and will enter circulation thereafter. The $5 and $10 bills are also getting a facelift -- the backs of each will be redesigned. The $5 will feature historical figures associated with the Lincoln Memorial, including Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., who delivered his "I Have a Dream" speech there. The $10 will now feature leaders of the suffrage movement, including Sojourner Truth and Susan B. Anthony. These changes constitute the biggest makeover U.S. currency has seen since the 1920s.

Share the knowledge!

If you liked this you'll love our podcast! Check it out on iTunes, Stitcher, Google Play Music, SoundCloud, search 'curiosity' on your favorite podcast app or add the RSS Feed URL.