Who Owns Antarctica?

Who Owns Antarctica?

Antarctica is the coldest, driest, windiest and most uninhabited place on Earth, lacking a permanent population and indigenous peoples. So who owns it? The United Kingdom was first to lay claim on parts of Antarctica. But by the 1930s, France, Norway, Argentina, Chile, Australia, and Nazi Germany had claimed territory there as well. By 1959, twelve nations signed the Antarctic Treaty to establish the region as a joint condominium.


from Seeker Daily

Key Facts In This Video

  • 1

    Antarctica is the coldest, windiest, driest and most uninhabited region on the planet. (0:00)

  • 2

    There is no permanent human population on Antarctica. (0:49)

  • 3

    Twelve countries signed the Antarctica Treaty in 1959. (1:34)

Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook and get smarter every day!