Isinglass is a substance made from the air bladders of fish, such as sturgeon or cod. When combined with cask beers, it clarifies the liquid by attracting yeast and other particles, gathering them into a squishy mass that is eventually removed from the cask. Isinglass is no longer as common as it once was, but British cask beers in particular still use it, and trace amounts of it can remain in the beer even when the isinglass mass is removed. Guinness announced in November 2015 that it was going completely vegan by halting the use of isinglass as a clarification agent.
There Could Be Fish Bladder In Your Beer
Share the knowledge!
Key Facts In This Video
Fast-food "veggie" items may in fact contain meat or animal byproducts. 01:35
Cane sugar may be processed with bone char, which is made with the bones of animals. 03:44
Bread can contain fish oil as well as L-cysteine, a derivative of human hair, hog hair, or poultry feathers. 07:20