Holland And The Netherlands Are Not The Same

Holland And The Netherlands Are Not The Same

The Netherlands is also one of four countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The country of the Netherlands is divided into twelve provinces. Two of these provinces are North Holland and South Holland, and these are the most populated parts of the country. One of the provinces is Zeeland, which is why the country of New Zealand is "new."


Key Facts In This Video

  • 1

    The region around the Netherlands has been renamed many times over the past thousand years, with names including: The Dutch Republic, The Kingdom of Hollande, and more. (0:13)

  • 2

    The two Hollands in the Netherlands are the most populated provinces in the country. (0:56)

  • 3

    For a time, the east coast of the United States was called "New Netherland," and the capital was "New Amsterdam." (2:33)

See all

Nikola Tesla


Space Telescope


Get smarter every day! Like us on Facebook.
You'll get the most interesting and engaging topics in your feed, straight from our team of experts.