How Many Dwarf Planets Are In Our Solar System


How Many Planets Are in the Solar System?

Watch Later Added

Never Stop Learning with Curiosity

Next Video
Replay Video

Discover hundreds of thousands of quality videos. Curiosity is your personal learning app. With videos from more than 200–and growing–content creators, you’ll find the best learning videos for your unique interests.

Find what you want to learn, easily. Pinpoint what you’re looking for with category, subcategory, format and more search options. Or, let our daily curation introduce you to content you never knew existed.

  • Curiosity
  • About This Video

What is Curiosity?

Inspiring, bite-sized learning content.

Expert-curated, delivered to you.

Save and share what you love.

Sign up and never stop learning.

About this Video

from Universe Today

In this short explainer video, Universe Today publisher Fraser Cain explains just how many planets there are in the Solar System. How did we go from 9 to 8, and what does this mean for Pluto? --------------- How Many Planets are in the Solar System? I'm just going to warn you, this is a controversial topic. Some people get pretty grumpy when you ask: how many planets are in the Solar System? Is it eight, ten, or more? I promise you this, though, we're never going back to nine planets... ever. When many of us grew up, there were nine planets in the Solar System. It was like a fixed point in our brains. As kids, memorizing this list was an early right of passage of nerd pride: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. But then in two-thousand-five, Mike Brown discovered Eris, an icy object thought to be about the same size as Pluto, out beyond its orbit. That would bring the total number of planets to ten. Right? There's no turning back, textbooks would need to be changed. In order to settle the dispute, the International Astronomical Union met in two-thousand-six, and argued for, and against Pluto's planethood. Some astronomers advocated widening the number of planets to twelve, including Pluto, its moon Charon, the Asteroid Ceres, and the newly discovered Eris. In the end, they changed the definition of what makes a planet, and sadly, Pluto doesn't make the cut: Here are the new requirements of planethood status: 1. A planet has to orbit the Sun. Okay fine, Pluto does that. 2. A planet needs enough gravity to pull itself into a sphere. Okay, spherical. Pluto's fine there too. 3. A planet needs to have cleared out its orbit of other objects. Uh oh, Pluto hasn't done that. For example, planet Earth accounts for a million times the rest of the material in its orbit, while Pluto is just a fraction of the icy objects in its realm. The final decision was to demote Pluto from planet to dwarf planet. But don't despair, Pluto is in good company. There's Ceres, the first asteroid ever discovered, and the smallest of the dwarf planets. The surface of Ceres is made of ice and rock, and it might even have a liquid ocean under its surface. NASA's Dawn mission is flying there right now to give us close up pictures for the first time. Haumea, named after the Hawaiian goddess of fertility, is about a third the mass of Pluto, and has just enough gravity to pull itself into an ellipsoid, or egg shape. Even though it's smaller, it's got moons of its own. Makemake, a much larger Kuiper belt object, has a diameter about two-thirds the size of Pluto. It was discovered in two-thousand-five by Mike Brown and his team. So far, Makemake doesn't seem to have any moons. Eris is the most massive known dwarf planet, and the one that helped turn our definition of a planet upside-down. It's twenty-seven-percent more massive than Pluto and the ninth most massive body that orbits the Sun. It even has a moon: Dysnomia. And of course, Pluto. The founding member of the dwarf family. Want an easy way to remember the eight planets, in order? Just remember this mnemonic: my very excellent mother just served us noodles. For all you currently writing angry tweets to Mike Brown, hold on a sec. Changing Pluto's categorization is an important step that really needed to happen. The more we discover about our Universe, the more we realize just how strange and wonderful it is. When Pluto was discovered eighty years ago, we never could have expected the variety of objects in the Solar System. Categorizing Pluto as a dwarf planet helps us better describe our celestial home. So, our Solar System now has eight planets, and five dwarf planets. Thanks for watching!